Suika, Japanese Izakaya, Vancouver

Kingyo’s sister, Suika, opened a while ago and I’ve been wanting to try because of my love for izakaya food. Suika is currently #1 on the Talk of the Town list on Urbanspoon.

The restaurant has nice Japanese-styled interior.
SAM_7316

SAM_7317

The bar. (look at the samurai sword!)
SAM_7320

SAM_7324

pumpkin and mango martini. It was a little too salty (from the pumpkin juice) so the waitress kindly added some more mango juice to make it sweeter.
SAM_7327

today’s fresh sheet with Halloween specials.
SAM_7328

finally, the food! This is the Suika sampler appetizer box. detailed descriptions to come later.
SAM_7330

Ebi Mayo. Up to par quality.
SAM_7332

Torotoro cha-shu. It’s really soft but too much fat for me.
SAM_7337

Corn Kakiage. I liked this! It reminds me of the corn chicken I ate when I was young.
SAM_7336

Grilled duck breast
SAM_7340

Kakuni Bibimbap. My favourite item today! The rice and sauce was delicious.
SAM_7341

I’ve heard about the matcha bulee and I was really curious about it! This is pretty innovative. Basically It’s green tea ice cream with hard caramel on top. It’s different from a normal creme bulee because the contrast in the texture is quite different. Nevertheless I enjoyed this dessert and it’s likely that I will order this again.
SAM_7343

Suika on Urbanspoon

-by Jenny Shen, EatWithJenny

Leave a Reply

