True Confections, Desserts, Vancouver

After eating at Suika we wanted to go to Sweet Obsessions for dessert, but unfortunately the shop did not have seats so we ended up at True Confections. I have been to the denman location a couple of times, and I really enjoyed their Hazelnut Mousse Cake last time. We got the Dark Belgian Mousse Cake and Black Savannah Cake. Both of those I haven’t tried before.

Dark Belgian Mousse ($7.95): Flourless dark chocolate cake, piled with chocolate mousse and shards of chocolate.
SAM_7351
This flavour and the hazelnut mousse cake were quite similar. I actually liked the dark belgian one more than the hazelnut because it was more chocolatey. This cake is really rich, flavourful but yet not overly sweet. I can say this is one of my favourite desserts in Vancouver as it was also a fair price for the portion. I did not eat the whipped cream at all though. Hearts: 9.2/10

Black Savannah Cake ($7.50): Angel food cake in Bavarian cream and Kahlua, Served with 3-Berry Sauce
SAM_7350
It was my first time trying a Savannah cake. Last time my friends said it was not good so I did not get it. But I was glad I did this time because I liked this A LOT! Savannah cake has an interesting texture. It was like a moist spongecake, with chocolate flavour. I don’t usually like any kind of berry sauce but I ate a little with the cake because it was a good contrast. Hearts: 9/10

-By Jenny Shen, EatWithJenny

Leave a Reply

