Miura Waffle Milk Bar – Cafe, Vancouver

I heard about Miura Waffle Milk Bar from their Facebook page. I’ve always been a fan of waffles and I was really enthusiastic to go because I had a Buy One Get One Free coupon from Entertainment Book. Miura is known for their sandos – waffle sandwiches that come in savoury and sweet flavours. Miura has an outdoor patio so in the summer you can people-watch on Davie Street while eating your sandos.

miura

IMAG0706
Garlic Chicken Sando ($7.49) – Miso Garlic Chicken, Tomatoes & Cabbage Slaw
The chicken was tender and delicious, although I couldn’t taste any garlic flavour since the sauce was quite light. The waffle had the right kind of crunch I was looking for, although I wish the waffles could be a little hotter. Also I would prefer lettuce or cucumbers over cabbage slaw because too much shredded cabbage was falling out of the sando. But overall I liked this sandwich, although I wouldn’t get it at full price because it can’t fill me up by itself. However it was good value with the coupon. Hearts: 8.2/10

IMAG0707
Peaches Miho Sando ($4.49) – Earl Grey Custard Cream, Peach Preserves & Blackberry Sauce
I actually really wanted to try the Triple Chocolate sando which was the Valentine’s Day special, but they can’t do that. 😦 So I got the weekend special, limited-edition flavour that Miura had that week. I’ve never been a big fan of fruity desserts so I thought it was only alright. I should have gotten the tiramisu but I chose this because of the limited-edition concept! I couldn’t taste earl grey flavours in the cream and I ended up exchanging my sandwich for my companion’s chicken sando after eating only a few bites of mine, LOL. Also, I was expecting my sando to be fresh/hotter but it was cold compared to the chicken sando. I think it’s because it was made before the chicken sando and Miura staff waited to serve both sandos at the same time. After having it heated up it tasted better. Hearts: 6.6/10

Jenny says:

  • Like them on Facebook because they announce special/limited-edition flavours every now and then
  • If you prefer fresh/hot waffles like me, notify the staff or ask them to re-heat the waffles
  • Waffles here are one of a kind!
  • Good atmosphere, ideal for coffee chats and relaxing

Miura Waffle Milk Bar

Miura Waffle Milk Bar
http://miurawafflemilkbar.webs.com
829 Davie Street, Vancouver

-by Jenny Shen, Eat With Jenny

One thought on “Miura Waffle Milk Bar – Cafe, Vancouver

  1. It’s funny how I ended up discovering Miura at the time. I ran into them when I was prospecting clients for RewardMe. And I tried their waffles and I really liked them a lot as a dessert place.

    The only big shame is that they don’t open late a night, and I think they should. I would love to go there at night and just relax with friends. Personally I love their dessert waffles when they are made fresh. And you’re right it makes a difference if it gets cold.

Leave a Reply

