Meat & Bread – Sandwiches, Vancouver

IMAG1124

I would be surprised if you have not heard about or tried Meat & Bread in Vancouver, the hyped-up sandwich shop which stayed #1 on Urbanspoon’s Talk of the Town list since a long time ago.

Because I don’t get how sandwiches or hot dogs can be out of this world, I dislike most hyped-up restaurants. More often than not, I think these hyped-up places are meant to attract tourists and generate curiosity and traffic, instead of offering real good food like less known places that only locals know about. I was even more determined not to go especially after I heard from ex-coworkers that their sandwiches were not worth the hype.

I was very reluctant to try Meat & Bread until my classmate suggested to try it out before a final exam one day. So I agreed, only because I can blog about how I was right about the hype. (So arrogant confident of my own opinions huh?)

IMAG1120

Meat & Bread serves sandwiches, soup, salad, drinks and ice cream sandwiches. I think $8 is really expensive for a sandwich without any sides.

IMAG1119

You eat at a communal table, like eating in a school cafeteria.

IMAG1111

Porchetta (fatty, boneless Italian pork roast) sandwiches in the making

IMAG1114

Porchetta sandwiches with mustard ($8)

IMAG1117

For $8, There wasn’t a lot of meat in my sandwich. Actually, I think I was given less meat than my companion. I didn’t know what Porchetta was and I chose it because it was the most popular. I regretted the decision because I hate eating animal fat (bacon, pork belly and etc). Also, I was having a hard time eating the sandwich because the meat kept falling out of the sandwich. My experience wasn’t very good since I really dislike getting my hands messy. I would have wrapped the sandwich if they didn’t put the slab of mustard.

I didn’t like the mustard and salsa verde sauce because they tasted weird and the salsa was a bit sour. The only noticeable flavour of the sandwich was from the meat and fat, rather than from the sauce. I liked the piece of skin in the sandwich which added extra crunch. Although it was essentially fat, it didn’t taste that greasy compared to the fat from the porchetta.

Although I did not like the porchetta sandwich at all, I liked the crispy ciabatta bun. I wish other sandwiches shops can offer that as well.

IMAG1118

I tasted a sip of my companion’s curiosity cola. It was not carbonated like regular cola so it tasted like cola that sat overnight.

IMAG1121

The disadvantage of eating at a ‘specialized shop’ is the limited options. It’s really difficult to find something I can eat (and like) at Meat & Bread because I don’t like porchetta, I don’t eat hot chicken wings because of its spiciness, and I would not spend $8 for a meatball sandwich. I know they had lamb neck option before, but I wouldn’t want to come back again.

The verdict: Meat & Bread is not catered to someone picky like me, but I have lots of friends that love their sandwiches.

I love desserts but I don’t sugar coat my opinions. Thanks for reading my honest review about Meat & Bread!

  • the ciabatta bun

  • the sandwich
  • limited options
  • the hype
  • the price
  • the line-ups

Meat & Bread on Urbanspoon

Meat & Bread
370 Cambie Street, Vancouver
http://meatandbread.ca/

-by Jenny Shen, Eat With Jenny

2 thoughts on “Meat & Bread – Sandwiches, Vancouver

  1. I think with any food, it’s important to be almost Zen Like and forget about all that has happened in the past and enjoy the experience. With more restaurants and more hype happening in Vancouver, I think that it’s going to be hard to avoid.

    Next time you’ve got fatty pork and you don’t like it, you should give me a call! I love that stuff and I’ll definitely take it off your hands. 🙂

  2. I’m thinking your review is more because of your specific tastes. Meat & Bread really do have good quality meats and the prices are a little high but I think they are worth the extra cost. I haven’t tried all of the sandwiches but the porcetta is definitely delicious (for me anyways). Not exactly the healthiest (or even remotely healthy) option, but it is a departure from the everyday sandwich.

    It’s craft sandwiches. Their sandwich flavours and toppings are not the standard fare.

Leave a Reply

