The Eatery [VFBM] – Japanese, Vancouver

SAM_7713

The Eatery is a popular sushi joint located in Kitslano. I’ve been wanting to try this place after reading reviews and hearing good things about their sushi. Like dim sum, sushi is best shared with other foodies, so I organized a meetup with the Food Bloggers Meetup Group. I was joined by Jun (Kunio Photography), Danielle, Jeffrey, Ronald and Vincent (Eat Marketing), Anabelle, and other FBM members.

SAM_7677

The interior of The Eatery is certainly different from most Japanese restaurants. I felt like I was in a haunted house or a science museum of some sort..

SAM_7676

SAM_7679

The menu of The Eatery features more than 30 different sushi rolls and many other items! It was pretty difficult to decide on which items to order. In the end we chose a few sushi rolls, appetizers, and 2 sushi platters to share.

SAM_7681

Tuna Tempura ($7.25) – The foodie Danielle told us this is her favourite & must-order item at the Eatery. At first I was pretty excited to try it, then I was startled when I tasted the half-cooked tuna. Since I don’t eat raw fish, I did not like this dish although the sauce and flavour was good. The other foodies seemed to like this though.

SAM_7683

Assorted sushi rolls

SAM_7689

a different angle

All the individual sushi rolls came in this platter. There were Spicy Salmon Crunch ($5.25), Toyko Roll ($4.95), Devil’s Tail ($7.75), The Figa Roll ($5.95), X-Rated Roll ($6.95), Godzilla Roll ($6.95).
I did not try the rolls that have raw fish or scallops, but I like The Eatery’s sushi in general, especially you can substitute sushi rice for brown rice for $0.50!
These were the sushi platters we shared. If you want to know what rolls were in these platters, the menu pictures provide the description. Since it was so dark in the restaurant and there were so many sushi rolls, I had no idea what I was eating either!
sushi
SAM_7685

Big in Japan sushi platter ($59.95) – I really liked the yam fries that came with the platter. It was nice to eat some comfort food in addition to good sushi.

SAM_7694

My favourite was the Captain Crunch roll (bottom right)! I did not expect a deep-fried California roll to be so crunchy and delicious. I wish I had more than one piece! I thought I would like the Viva Las Vegas roll too, but the spicy mayo was too much for me.

SAM_7695

Chicken Oko Nomi ($12.50) – Okonomiyaki with chicken. Since okonomiyaki is one of my favourite dishes, I want to find the best okonomiyaki in Vancouver. Compared to other places I have tried, I would say the one at The Eatery is the best so far because:

  • it was crispy, fresh and delicious
  • chicken made the dish more filling
  • the dish came with two different dips – mayo and seaweed sauce. I personally prefer the seaweed sauce because its sweetness was unique. However, a Japanese foodie in our group told me he thought this okonomiyaki was too sweet to be considered authentic

SAM_7696

The Wheel of Fortune ($54.95)

Most of the sushi rolls in this platter had raw fish, so I only ate the Found Nemo roll and some of the crab pieces (with spicy mayo). I personally prefer the other platter because of my dislike of raw fish.

Group photo taken by Jun of Kunio Photography. Click on the photo to read his blog post on The Eatery / Meetup event.

My first visit at The Eatery was a great experience, despite not sampling every sushi roll. Because the selection of sushi rolls is so impressive, I need to go back again to try more individual sushi rolls! In addition, The Eatery has a daily special menu with discounted items.

  • Chicken Oko Nomi (although it is pretty pricey given its small portion)
  • Captain Crunch roll
  • sampling many sushi rolls with foodies
  • brown rice option (big bonus!)

  • the pub-like atmosphere & loud music made it hard to have a good conversation
  • the location. With so many good sushi restaurants in Burnaby and izakayas in Downtown, I would probably choose The Eatery only if I happen to be in the area.

The Eatery on Urbanspoon

The Eatery

3431 W Broadway, Vancouver

http://www.theeatery.ca/

-by Jenny Shen, Eat With Jenny

One thought on “The Eatery [VFBM] – Japanese, Vancouver

  1. Thanks for the Link Love Jenny! It was definitely a successful meetup for sure. I think for me as time goes on, the great company is really the highlight of any eating night.

Leave a Reply

