Meloty Fine Tea – Desserts, Vancouver

Having been to a few afternoon tea places, I think some places are not worth the money because the food offered really isn’t that great. I heard about this all you can eat afternoon tea from my food-loving friend Carlos who writes the food blog – Calo Go Around (in Traditional Chinese characters). I was really excited to try the afternoon tea at Meloty in Richmond because it is the only restaurant I know that serves unlimited afternoon tea.

Speaking of afternoon tea, it is not the same thing as high tea. Afternoon tea is a small meal snack typically eaten between 2pm and 5pm. Afternoon tea is accompanied by luxury ingredient sandwiches, cakes and pastries, often served on a tiered stand. On the other hand, high tea refers to an early evening meal consisted of a hot dish such as fish and chips, followed by cakes and bread, served to middle to upper class children or by labourers, miners and the like. (source: Wikipedia)

When you are referring to the luxury afternoon snacking/dining experience, afternoon tea is the term, not high tea!

SAM_6231

From the outside you cannot imagine that this is a restaurant with good interior design! The banner and outside appearance make Meloty really hidden.

melotyaddress
Google Maps Screencap

However, it was unexpected to see almost all the tables full at Meloty. I only knew this place through the word of mouth so perhaps that is how Meloty attracts customers, rather than having big fancy signs.

SAM_6233

My companions and I all got the Meloty Deluxe High Tea ($25.00/pp). Served 2~5pm Unlimited hand- made delicious and a special made beverage.

I was informed that we will be served the savoury items first, and that we could refill any items we wish. However, any waste may be subjected to additional charges.

SAM_6234

I decided to get one of each of the savoury items to start. At Meloty all the savoury dishes were served on a tiered stand. Judging only by the portion, I could tell that Meloty offers better value than all the other afternoon tea places. Other places will use one tiered stand to serve you both savoury and sweet items, but at Meloty the desserts were served in addition to the tiered stand!

SAM_6236

Mushroom pies and tuna appies

SAM_6237

waffles with cheese & bacon bits, rosemary scones, and mini ham & cheese croissants

Since I am not a big fan of cold savoury things, so I thought the croissants, sandwiches and other finger goods were okay. I always prefer eating baked goods fresh out of the oven. The only thing I really liked out of the savoury dishes was the rosemary scone. It was warm and smelled good. After I finished most of the savoury dishes, I chose not to refill because I was ready for the desserts!

SAM_6241

This was the first dessert plate that the waitress served us – chestnut cake, matcha tart, strawberry tart and mango cream tart.

The chestnut cake has sponge cake and chestnut cream/icing (can someone tell me what this texture is called?) topped with mint chocolate and strawberries. I thought the cake was a bit dry but the combination of the cake was delicious.

I don’t really like tart/pie desserts, but I enjoyed the matcha tart a lot. This one has a white chocolate pretzel on top of the matcha mousse, and there was red bean paste inside the tart! 😀 It was so good that I ate two of those.

SAM_6243

White chocolate mousses, chestnut cakes from the last picture, and crème brûlée. Crème brûlée was great because of its cute presentation, and it actually had vanilla seeds in it!

SAM_6271

Did you think that was it for desserts? Next I had 3 types of panna cotta. I have not had so much panna cotta at once before. These were sooooo good! They were smooth and each flavour tasted fabulous with different combinations of jam & fruits. I have to say the bakery chefs are creative and thoughtful in their creations.

SAM_6274

Last but not least, this was the plate of cheesecake that was served to us!

Original cheesecake with raspberries, berry cheesecake, mango cheesecake with blackberries, and tiramisu.

The cheesecakes were rich and flavourful. The tiramisu cake was a delight, although I wish it did not come with blackberries.

SAM_6255

The afternoon tea is served on Narumi bone china. It was a nice touch because it adds more class to the dining experience at Meloty. Usually I do not expect good quality and attention to details when I dine in Richmond, but Meloty was an exception.

  • The desserts were the highlight of this visit! Next time I might skip the savoury ones and eat more from the dessert plates
  • Favourites: cheesecake, panna cotta, matcha tart, creme bulee
  • Ambiance was nice
  • Washroom was really fancy (the women’s at least :P)

  • Although you can get unlimited food, it was almost impossible to refill anything because I had no more room after trying every single item

I tried 18 different items in total including both the savoury and sweet items. Meloty offers about twice as much as the items I get from other afternoon tea places, plus they have bigger portions!

I think this is the best afternoon tea you can get with $25 for the amount of food and decent experience. Although the desserts were probably not made by a famous award-winning bakery chef (I actually don’t know), this place is my favourite afternoon tea place so far. I personally give Meloty 5 hearts for good food and superb value in comparison to other afternoon tea places.

Words of wisdom: Come with an empty stomach! Afternoon tea items may change since my visit in the summer. If you do visit, please drop a comment to let me know what you had and if you like it or not. 🙂

Meloty on Urbanspoon

Meloty Fine Tea
http://www.meloty.com/
#1161-8328 Capstan Way, Richmond

-by Jenny Shen, Eat With Jenny

2 thoughts on “Meloty Fine Tea – Desserts, Vancouver

  1. Very educational post Jenny. I didn’t actually know the difference between the teas (not so much of a guy thing to do) but it’s interesting that they did AYCE Tea. I’m sure there are a few guys that would be interested in doing that.

    Why am I not surprised that the dessert ….was your highlight? hmmmm.

Leave a Reply

