30 Day Challenge Reflection

On December 1st, I signed myself up for a 30 Days Blogging Challenge. I wanted to get used to blogging and test myself how much effort I can put into the blog.

After a month of marathon blogging, I ended up finishing 23 posts in December, which is a 77% completion rate. I could have finished all 30 posts if I sacrifice the quality and just put up short posts. But all the posts I’ve done so far included photos (resized and watermarked), details of  the foods, links and information of the restaurants. Considering that I was busy with freelance projects, school, organization of the Food Bloggers Meetups, many events and gatherings, I don’t think I can do any more than that.

Aside from the food blog, setting up the Facebook page and the Food Bloggers meetup helped me build momentum. I enjoyed sharing my passion in food, and I am really honored to meet many other food bloggers and food lovers.

The overwhelming support I have been receiving during the entire time I was blogging is amazing. I was surprised to find that people I know from school, salsa, yoga, work and twitter know about this food blog! Whether you are reading or sharing about my blog, commenting on my blog posts, or simply being supportive of this process, I appreciate it very much. I especially want to thank Vincent for being the top commenter – with 22 comments during the 30 days challenge!

Although I won’t be in Vancouver to organize any meetups, I will still be on Twitter and Facebook, and will be blogging about Vancouver (and Indian) food while I’m on my internship in India.

4 thoughts on “30 Day Challenge Reflection

  1. Some other people will sugar coat it for you but I won’t: It indeed seems you are doing it for the popularity, more than anything else. I have been reading other food blogs in Vancouver and there are blogs pumping posts on a daily basis – without the need of a challenge. Furthermore, from what I gather, they have full time jobs as well as activities of their own. These include Sherman Food Adventures as well as Follow Me Foodie. In the past, Chowtimes and I’m Only Here for the Food also posted on a daily basis. So, what that means?

    Looking also at what you have written, further confirms my thoughts about popularity. Why you would choose to food blog when:

    a) You don’t eat cold meats (as mentioned in your Hakkasan review)?
    b) You don’t eat “raw” (as mentioned in several reviews, the most recently being The Eatery)?
    c) Why you would choose to visit a restaurant that you know you won’t eat what they serve (once again, raw fish with The Eatery but also porchetta in Meat & Bread)? Even funnier is that you choose to “like” one but dislike the other.
    d) And this might be the silliest one: “I love sushi…but I wouldn’t want to try this place at all if I didn’t read any reviews”. (This is a comment you wrote on Volcano Sushi). Really? That literally proves you are more for the hype, something which, funnily enough, you bashed Meat & Bread about.

    Assuming you choose not to censor this comment, I am almost certain there will be people who will write something about this comment, like Vincent (if you tell me you “trust” a marketing person, it will likewise answer a LOT of questions!). Sure, people will accuse me of being a hater and what not. But keep in mind that, when Vancouver is so-called a foodie city and your standards are this low, how do you think you will compare against others?

    • Hey Stevie, you’re absolutely right. I am a marketer and I’m damn proud of every restauranteur and food blogger and every other person I’ve worked with to ensure the success of the industry as a whole. I don’t hide that fact.

      I believe that everybody is entitled to their opinion, and you make some valid points. And yet,what I feel is really being attacked are those that are food bloggers in general. This is the difference I’ve always seen between bloggers versus critics. Food bloggers can blog about what they want. It’s their blog.

      But every food blogger I’ve met, or read about has always admitted their biases in food, yet many would never say they are a food critic. How many food bloggers can tell me that they are comfortable eating dog meat or eating horse meat? Does that make us any less of a food blogger, or a foodie, or whatever labels are associated with eating.

      After all, let’s just point out irony of it all. You’re sharing your opinion and now it’s public. She respects you enough to let your opinion to be voiced, she didn’t have to. And does publishing your message really make her that much more popular. Does publishing a bad review of of a person’s work history and sticking it around the office make anybody that much more popular?

      That’s the thing, standards are always relevant. Your comment is relevant to mine. We’re all relevant in who we prefer to read, prefer to support, and we prefer to dislike. This is fact of life. Everything is Op Ed.

      But the one thing in life I’ve always learned to value is good friends, and great loyalty. Jenny is my friend. No matter what you say, or write, that doesn’t change anything.

      Stevie, you know my site, so please feel free to e-mail me and I’d be happy to sit down and chat with you over a cup of coffee about the state of the food blogosphere in Vancouver. It’s a sincere offer. Looking forward to hearing from you.

    • Hi Stevie, I appreciate the time you took to read my blog posts. I’m actually flattered that you compared me to bloggers who started blogging years ago. I am aware of the fact that other food bloggers have been quite dedicated to blogging aside from their work and other duties, which is exactly why I challenged myself to blog more.

      Perhaps you think there are qualifications to be a food blogger, but I think otherwise. I believe that anyone, with allergies, food preferences, or restrictions can be a food blogger. Yes, I don’t like eating cold meat or raw food, but at certain occasions (such as a set menu offered by Hakkasan, and a group dine out event at The Eatery), I’ll try a little bit. As I mentioned in the Eatery blog post, I did not order the raw rolls and I never do. I liked and disliked the restaurant based on the things that I ate. I actually wanted to try the lamb neck sandwich at Meat & Bread (not available that day) and I did not know what porchetta was (wish I knew). As someone who is not that adventurous and likes to eat for value, it makes no sense for me to purchase some food if I know I’m going to hate it!

      I try to write specific kinds of blog posts, about desserts and value dining. Since these topics don’t appeal to everyone, I don’t really expect to be the most “popular” food blogger, or accumulate the most amounts of posts to be on the Urbanspoon leader board. Others can try to compare the number of posts or the frequency of posting of other food bloggers, but the comparison is not all that important to me. All I know is I want to eat what I like to eat and tell people what I think, while having fun with the meetups and social media. I’m not a food critic because at the moment I don’t know enough and I haven’t tasted enough. Although, ever since I started food blogging, I’ve been learning more about food, which I think is fantastic.

      I don’t think you’re a hater because I see some misunderstanding in what you know about me and my blog posts. Also I should thank you for making me aware that some readers might want to know the reasons behind going to certain restaurants or ordering particular items. I’d actually like to meet you over coffee because it seems like you read quite a few food blogs for some time, and perhaps we can sort out any misunderstanding you have with my food blog.

      P.S. Vincent and Alex can comment whatever they like because they are my friends. They also happen to be the best restaurant marketer and vlogger that I know.

      @ Vince & Alex: Thanks for the support!! You guys totally rock 😀

  2. Everyone is entitled to their own opinions. That’s the most important thing. And that includes food bloggers being entitled to their own food preferences. It’s just like what Vincent said, we’re not food critics. Jenny can blog about whatever food she wants. Just as I vlog about the restaurants that I would wanna eat at. My personal preference is that I would never vlog about a dessert place, not only because Jenny has that all covered but I just don’t care for desserts enough to wanna spend time talking about it. So does that make my vlogs suck? Maybe to some. But my vlogs are very personal to me and therefore I only vlog about places where I personally want to eat and not where people tell me to go eat. I could vlog about a hot dog stand and it would be more genuine than me vlogging about an afternoon of high tea. That’s mainly because high tea is not my thing. While you do raise valid points, Steve, it is still her blog and she really needs to try the restaurants and foods that she wants. She’s not a food critic. She’s a blogger. There is a considerable difference. Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

