SuperBonchaz VANEATS dining package review

tl;dr: SuperBonchaz package is a good deal, now scroll down to see photos. 😀

Since I’ve always loved dining deals, I was very excited to review this SuperBonchaz dining package, courtesy of VANEATS.ca.

I’ve blogged about VANEATS packages before, but here is a refresher. With a fixed price, you get an exclusive menu to order from. Sort of like Dine Out Vancouver, but the prices are friendlier and the passes are valid for a limited time and often sell out quickly.

The SuperBonchaz package is only $6.50 and it includes one item from each category:

(A) Bonchaz: Original, Banana Walnut, or Matcha Coconut Green Tea
(B) Sandwich: Avocado & Brie, The Vegan, or Beef Bulgogi
(C) Soup of the Day (vegan option available)

I got the chocolate Bonchaz although it was not specified in the package. I’ve tried all Bonchaz flavours before and I liked the chocolate the best. I asked the staff to heat up the bun because it tastes a lot better when it’s fresh/hot. When the cafe (any cafe) is not busy, perhaps heating up pastries should be a default (or at least the asking) because I would really appreciate that.

Beef Bulgogi sandwich: although this is “Korean-inspired”, it tasted more like a combination of beef sukiyaki and beef stew. I personally find the hoagie bread too soft (tasted almost like hot dog buns), and would have preferred toasted whole wheat buns. Overall it was okay.

Corn chowder with spicy sausage. That was the other choice besides the vegan soup. I don’t like spicy foods but I actually liked the soup. The soup was flavourful, not too spicy and it was not thick like regular chowder.

You can find more photos on VANEATS.ca and their Facebook album.

P.S. I brought my DSLR to take photos for this review, but realized at the restaurant that the camera ran out of battery… #fail Jenny …-_-

Bonchaz Bakery Café
189 E Broadway, Vancouver

-by Jenny Shen, Eat With Jenny

Leave a Reply

